top of page

Blague

1  noun  ˈbläg, -ȧg   plural -s
: HUMBUG, CLAPTRAP, RAILLERY
2  intransitive verb   -ed/-ing/-s
: to talk pretentiously and usually inaccurately : lie boastfully

Mr.B on The Dennis Ball Show!

GET UP ALL THING, PHOOLIGANS, because two Phooligan favorites are LIVE early tomorrow! BOUNCE ON IN Sunday, 5 March 2023, at 3:00 p.m. UK time, or 10:00 a.m. Eastern US time, 9:00 a.m. Central US time, and 7:00 a.m. Pacific US time to catch Dennis Ball chatting LIVE with Mr.B The Gentleman Rhymer at https://www.youtube.com/live/PHUcJx_jLoU!

Chap-Hop Superstar and, indeed, the progenitor of the genre, Mr.B the Gentleman Rhymer, busts a breakdance move in tweeds, one Adidas shelltoe athletic shoe, and one men's daywear brogue, across a background emblazoned with the British flag. Mr.B's logo hovers to the right. The title "Chap Hop Live From the UK" rides across the top of the image. Dennis Ball, host of The Dennis Ball Show, appears in the lower left corner. The image advertises that the live broadcast may be viewed live on YouTube on Sunday, 5 March 2023, from 3:00 p.m. Greenwich Mean Time, or 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time, 9:00 a.m. Central Time, and 7:00 a.m. Pacific time.
Mr.B the Gentleman Rhymer is to be LIVE on The Dennis Ball Show!

I arranged our weekend around this powerful harmonic convergence - a collision of worlds between two of my absolute favorites in the realm of delighting people in brilliant and genre-division-pulverizing ways. I hope you can tune in live!

Mr.B the Gentleman Rhymer is a Chap-Hop Superstar and, in fact, pioneered the genre to begin with. If you aren't already a massive fan of ol'B, are you even a Phooligan? I flog his tunes regularly on Phoole & the Gang, I devour his books, and I dream of the day that perhaps I'll get to share a stage with this polymath Wunderkind. B is a high-speed collision of hip-hop and P.G. Wodehouse, losing nothing of the components' essences, but fusing them into something much more powerful, often silly, but just as often wistful and shockingly disarming. I learn and re-learn instrumental art lessons every time I join in B's NICEOLATION Sessions Mondays on Mixcloud from 2:00 p.m. Central US time/8:00 p.m. UK time. He even has a PUPPET NEMESIS. Salut to the Guild of Chap Hop!


The Dennis Ball Show is a dazzling star in a vast constellation of entertainment comets from the perpetually-in-supernova mind of Bob Cronin, whose music Phooligans frequently enjoy on Phoole & the Gang under noms-de-boom like dj BC and Ghost Cave. Dennis, the host and star, is a ball! The show features acts across vast swathes of genres and eschelons of indie cred, as well as artists in every medium. I myself had the honor of being Dennis's guest twice!

Dennis and Mr.B give me hope in a darkening and chaotic world, and I feel sure they'll do the same for you. Get there get there!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page